SyFy’s July 4, 2016 Twilight Zone Marathon Schedule

When it comes to Twilight Zone marathons, nothing tops New Year’s Eve. The last one was particularly impressive, with Syfy airing an expanded slate: all 156 episodes, in high-definition, in broadcast order.

TZ marathon

But close behind the NYE marathon in popularity is the July 4th one. So here, in case you’re planning some fireworks, a cookout, or some other summer fun, is the schedule for this year’s marathon:

July 3, 2016

11:30pm – A Kind of Stopwatch

July 4, 2016

12:00am – Night Call

12:30am The Changing of the Guard

1:00am – The 7th is Made Up of Phantoms

1:30am – Probe 7 – Over and Out

2:00am – The Last Flight

2:30am – The Little People

3:00am – A Nice Place to Visit

3:30am Twenty-Two

4:00am – Queen of the Nile

4:30am – The Rip Van Winkle Caper

5:00am – The Lonely

5:30 am – In Praise of Pip

6:00 am – Mr. Bevis

6:30 am – The Old Man in the Cave

7:00 am – Mr. Dingle, the Strong

7:30 am – Mirror Image

8:00am – A Penny for Your Thoughts

8:30am – People Are Alike All Over

9:00am – Two

9:30am – The Hunt

10:00am Walking Distance

10:30 am – Stopover in a Quiet Town

11:00am A Game of Pool

11:30 am One for the Angels

12:00pm – Number Twelve Looks Just Like You

12:30 pm – Nick of Time

1:00pm – The Bewitchin’ Pool

1:30 pm – Five Characters in Search of an Exit

2:00pm – The Dummy

2:30pm – I Sing the Body Electric

3:00pm Little Girl Lost

3:30pm – It’s a Good Life

4:00pm – Kick the Can

4:30pm The Invaders

5:00pm – The Odyssey of Flight 33

5:30pm – The Hitchhiker

6:00pm – The Masks

6:30pm – The Obsolete Man

7:00pm – Living Doll

7:30pm A Stop at Willoughby

8:00pm The Monsters Are Due on Maple Street

8:30pm Eye of the Beholder

9:00pm To Serve Man

9:30pm Time Enough at Last

10:00pm Nightmare at 20,000 Feet

10:30 pm – Will the Real Martian Please Stand Up?

11:00pm Where Is Everybody?

11:30pm – The Howling Man

July 5, 2016

12:00am – The Midnight Sun

12:30am – Third From the Sun

1:00am – Long-Distance Call

1:30am – A Most Unusual Camera

2:00am – A Hundred Yards Over the Rim

2:30am The After Hours

3:00am Nightmare as a Child

3:30am Deaths-Head Revisited

fireworks

Don’t miss: “Are TV Marathons ‎Passé?” and “Marathon Misgivings

***

For a daily dose of Serling, you can follow me on TwitterFacebook or Pinterest. You can also get email notifications of future posts by entering your address under “Follow S&S Via Email” on the upper left-hand side of this post. WordPress followers, just hit “follow” at the top of the page.

Hope to see you in some corner of the fifth dimension soon!

About Paul

Hard-working, hard-playing fan of all pop culture, especially the Twilight Zone. Which led to a Twitter page. And then to a blog. And then to ... stay tuned. Yes, that's a picture of Rod Serling, not me. You can find the real me under the "Your Host" tab on my blog, along with biographical details that, while 100 percent accurate, sound kind of boastful and braggy. Sorry.

Posted on 06/22/2016, in Twilight Zone and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 32 Comments.

  1. Great! But a lot of poor episodes mixed in with the great/good ones; but hey, I guess that’s TZ for ya! My article on the history of the Twilight Zone Marathons on the pop culture site Den of Geek: http://www.denofgeek.us/tv/the-twilight-zone/231833/the-twilight-zone-marathon-a-history-of-a-holiday-tradition

  2. The thought of watching “The After Hours” at 2:30 am (alone, cause my wife wouldn’t stay up) is pretty scary. Fortunately, I have to get up got work at 5:00.

    I do enjoy this marathon. I’m not glued to the set like in Dec/Jan, but I’ll watch a bunch. Thanks for the line-up.

    • There are a number of questionably timed episodes, Dan. Sometimes I feel like they just spin a wheel or throw some dice or something. Maybe DVR it?

      Glad you liked getting the line-up. Syfy’s website isn’t very user-friendly, IMHO, so I figured people would appreciate a plain list for easy reference. And yes, the July 4 marathon is a bit less binge-worthy, if only because of the weather. Always a fun time, though!

      • I just like knowing that when I do settle down to watch some TV, there will be something good on. I think I have that episode on DVR. I also own the DVDs. I’m thinking of signing up for Netflix because that would make it easier to watch a particular episode when I want to.

      • I hear ya. And yes, Netflix is great, though I should note that they don’t have TZ’s fourth season. Hulu does, though, as well as Amazon Prime.

      • Hmmm, good to know. I’m currently watching the 4th season. Passage on the Lady Anne — a favorite of mine.

  3. Instead of our favorite music while playing board games I may have to switch channels for a few of our favorite episodes.

  4. It seems my faves always come on at bad times (Rip Van Winkle Caper at 4 in the morning?), but I will give it a go! :)

  5. Granted I am just scanning it quickly, but it looks like it’s all “regular size” episodes this time around – no season 4?

    Last NYE marathon would be hard to beat, that’s for sure. And we’ll be traveling over July 4, so I will miss this year’s. But have fun, everyone!

  6. I grew up with the show and seen each episode many times so I only need to watch the last two minutes of each episode.

  7. Reblogged this on Booker's Blog and commented:
    Enter the Holiday Twilight Zone…

  8. I like marathon days of any kind of serial show. It just highlights the creative diversity of plots and themes of “The Twilight Zone,” Paul! :)

  9. Krista Shackleford

    I am not a fan of some of the episodes…especially the ones with Shatner in them. However, I see many of the ones I do like, such as Night Call, The Hunt, and A Game of Pool, just to name a few. There are a couple of stellar ones, Deaths-Head Revisited, The Obsolete Man, and One For the Angels. I would have also liked to see Printer’s Devil, Walking Distance, and the one with Carol Burnett.

    My top ten:

    The Hunt,
    Printer’s Devil,
    Deaths-Head Revisited,
    A Game of Pool
    A Nice Place To Visit
    Night of the Meek
    Last Rites Of Jeff Myrtlebank
    One For the Angels
    Cavender is Coming
    The Obsolete Man

    • See, this is one of the things I like about TZ (or just about any anthology): there’s something for everybody. For example, a lot of people love the Shatner episodes and don’t care for the Burnett episode at all, but how cool is it that the same series can satisfy both types of people?

      You mention some very fine episodes here. With any luck, they’ll show them the next time out. And of course, we can watch them all anytime on disc or through the various streaming services. (Btw, they DID show “Walking Distance” this time — at 10 a.m. on the 4th.) Thanks for stopping by, Krista!

  10. The NYE may be bigger, but July 4th always works better for me, I look forward to it every year!

    • Good for you, Jon! I often hear the opposite — that people are busy on the 4th, but more than happy to stay in during the cold weather and watch the NYE one. Either way, as long as you get some TZ!

  11. Love the Twilight Zone. It used to keep me up at night as a kid!

    • Mwahaha! Seriously, that’s great. Thanks for stopping by …

      • Man,I’m watching tz on Netflix,I’m on Season one,episode 8 I think,I’m definitely on season 1 though,I can’t wait for season 2 when those onscreen narrations start happening those are AWESOME,I’m glad I learned that,this website is VERY helpful and nice,I like to check up on it everyday to see of there is a new comment or new post,so,GREAT job,Paul!

  12. I didn’t even know there was a marathon!,that’s so cool,so,I know my plans for that day:sitting on the couch,being really happy,dancing in the commercial breaks,and probably having Advil at the end because I will not stop watching it,but I guess I don’t get headaches easily,haha thanks for telling me that Paul,now I can prepare!

  13. Lorraine Coleman

    I Love All Twilight Zone episodes by Rod Serling. I will always follow holiday marathons as well as the regular twilight zone scheduled televised programs posted on the Syfy channel.

  1. Pingback: SyFy’s July 4th Twilight Zone Marathon Schedule | Author JW Metcalf

Leave a Reply

